Posted by: Tim | November 6, 2007

High Impact Sermons #2

A second sermon that has made a great impact on me is by Charles Price, Senior Pastor of The Peoples Church in Toronto. I think the title was “Life in the Spirit”, from Galatians 5. I heard him preach it at the Toronto Spiritual Life Convention, I think in January of 2000 (may have been 1999 or 2001).

In the sermon Charles gives a great illustration. I may be a bit fuzzy on the details, but this is the gist of it. He describes a man who was a criminal who stood in a church with the Ten Commandments written on the wall. Thou shalt not kill….Thou shalt not steal…etc… They stood there condemning him for as he read them he knew he was guilty. At some later time he was in the church and he again saw the the commandments on the wall, but he was now a believer, and he realized that the very law that had condemned him now stood before him as promises from the Lord. Thou shalt not kill….Thou shalt not steal…etc… Because of the life in Christ in us through His Spirit the commandments become promises.

I have found this truth to be incredibly powerful as I understand that by His Spirit, Christ truly lives in me and enables me to live the Christian life. The One who saves me is also the One who sanctifies me (Col. 2:6 (ESV) “Therefore, as you received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in him,” see also 1 Thess. 5:23-24).

Last year I was looking at a passage in 1 Peter about being holy:

1 Peter 1:15-16 (ESV) but as he who called you is holy, you also be holy in all your conduct, [16] since it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.”

It struck me that the same principle is active here – I shall be holy, for the Lord is holy. This is not only a command, but it is also a promise. The reason I shall be holy, is because by His Holy Spirit, Christ lives His life in me, and He is holy. The seemingly impossible command to be holy becomes a promise that Christ will fulfill in me.

Wow! What an amazing God!If you are interested to learn more about what it means to have Christ live in us, I encourage you to buy Charles’ excellent book: Christ for Real. You can buy it here or here.

Responses

  1. Just checking in this morning for the first time. Thanks for sharing the illustration from Charles’ sermon on the perspective of the law from the lost and the saved. That is good!

  2. Hi Jeff,

    Glad you like Charles’ illustration! If you are interested you can listen to his messages at http://www.livingtruth.ca or you can go to youtube and search “Charles Price Living Truth”. There are a number of his messages on video.

    Only 6 weeks or so until T4G08! See you then.

    Tim


Leave a Reply

Categories

