Posted by: Tim | April 21, 2008

The Overbooked Collection featuring The Discipline of Spiritual Discernment by Tim Challies

I picked up a copy of Tim Challies’ book, “The Discipline of Spiritual Discernment”, in the Prairie Bookroom in Three Hills, the week before Together for the Gospel.

Tim has asked for some pictures of his book in unusual places. I’m not sure if these pictures are that unusual, but here they are below for your enjoyment. I have entitled this photo collection “Overbooked”, since after the T4G conference that describes me pretty well, and helps explain why my office desk has become a place for stacking piles of books, though I should admit that this desk was already swarming with books before I went to T4G.

So far, I have only read a few opening pages of Tim’s book, but I enjoyed what I read. I am expecting it to be a good book for a few reasons:

1. Tim’s writing on his blog is excellent!

2. Endorsements on back cover: Al Mohler, Ligon Duncan, Nancey Pearcey, Mark Dever, Don Whitney…foreword by John MacArthur…’nuf said.

3. A book about Spiritual Discernment is timely and desperately needed.

4. Being a regular reader of Tim’s blog, it was interesting to read about the process which included him receiving the contract from Crossway, writing the book, sending the final version in for publishing, and then the giant signing-shipping party Tim had with family to mail out pre-orders. In some weird way I feel sort of part of it.

Now without further adieu, I present the Overbooked Collection, featuring Tim Challies’ “the Discipline of Spiritual Discernment”:

1. Looking east, includes a bird’s-eye view of intricate basement carpet design

2. From the summit of Alcorn’s Law of Rewards bookpile, looking west, black crumpled plastic bag in foreground

3. Another shot from Mt. Alcorn, using telescopic zoom feature of Sony DSC-P93A

4. Vertical panoramic view looking west, extra kitchen chair in background

All the best to you Tim with the book!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

